The Divinity School recognizes student achievements through a variety of prizes. 

The Divinity School Diversity & Inclusion Student Paper Award
This award recognizes academic work by students that represents a diversity of thought or perspective. This could include research on topics as gender, sexuality, race, disability, among others or it could include alternative methodologies like feminist ethnography. This award helps to stimulate new forms of academic knowledge around diversity, equity, and inclusion that often stand outside the disciplinary mainframe of the study of religion. Recent winners include:

  • 2020- Mark Lambert

The Divinity School Prize for Excellence in Teaching
This award recognizes Ph.D students that demonstrate excellence in teaching and learning. Recent winners include:

  • 2021- Caroline Anglim
  • 2020- Seema Chauhan and Christine Trotter
  • 2019- Cathleen Chopra-McGowen, Kelli Gardner, Elizabeth Sartell, and Yonatan Shemesh
  • 2018- Emily Crews, Aaron Hollander, Russell Johnson
  • 2017- Katherine Mershon and Michael LeChevallier

Alma Wilson Teaching Fellowship
The Alma Wilson Fellowship Teaching Prize offers doctoral students and candidates in the Divinity School, with a record of outstanding teaching record, the opportunity to design and teach a course of their own design in the University’s Undergraduate Program in Religious Studies.

  • 2022- Derek Buyan, Kirsten Collins, Marielle Harrison, Allison Kanner-Botan
  • 2021- Caroline Anglim, Joel Brown, Menachem Kranz, Sara Jo Swiatek
  • 2020- Matthew Creighton, Mark Lambert, Matthew Peterson, Paride Stortini

Martin Marty Center Junior Fellowship
This fellowship provides a unique professionalization opportunity for doctoral candidates to support the completion of the dissertation and aid in the transition to professional life as public intellectuals.

  • 2022- Samuel Baudinette, Derek Buyan, Rachel Carbonara, Samuel Catlin, Alexandra Hoffman, Hannah Jones, Allison Kanner-Botan, Alexandra Matthews, Matthew Messerschmidt, Dhruv Nagar, Foster Pinkney, Doren Snoek, Raffaella Taylor- Seymour, Alice Yeh
  • 2021- Caroline Anglim, Mariam Attia, Joel Brown, Seema Chauhan, Izzet Coban, Nathan Hardy, Lee Hoffer, Harini Kumar, Diane Picio, John Sianghio, Sara Jo Swiatek

John Gray Rhind Award
This award is presented annually to an advanced student in the ministry program who excellence in academic and professional training gives notable promise of a significant contribution to the life of the church. Recent winners include:

  • 2021- Howard Ruan and Ariz Saleem
  • 2020- Katherine Gerike and Victoria Wick
  • 2019- Sarah Lusche and Sara Lytle
  • 2018- Lucas Allgeyer
  • 2017- Saeed Richardson
  • 2016- Marcus Christian Lohrman

Suzan Colver-Rosenberger Educational Prize
This award is presented annually in rotation to a Ph.D. student in education, theology, and sociology. The object of the prize is to stimulate constructive study and original research and to develop practical ideas for the improvement of educational objectives and methods or the promotion of human welfare. The most recent prize winner from the Divinity School is Russell Johnson (2019).

The Tikva Frymer-Kensky Memorial Prize
This award is awarded to students who has written the most accomplished essay integrating the materials and insights of at least two of the fields to which Professor Frymer-Kensky’s own scholarship contributed: Hebrew Bible, Biblical law, Ancient New Eastern Studies, and ritual and/or feminist theology. Recent winners include:

  • 2019- David Ridge
  • 2018- Sun Bok Bae

Milo P. Jewett Prize
When available, this prize awarded “to that members of the student body of the Divinity School who shall be pronounced by competent judges to have submitted the best-written paper translating, interpreting, or applying to a contemporary situation the Holy Scriptures, or a passage therefrom, regard being had to the most effective expression to the meaning and spirit of the sacred text.” In recent years, the money has also funded travel for research by advanced students in Bible. Recent winners include:

  • 2014- Steven Michael Grafton Philp
  • 2013- Kelli Anne Gardner
  • 2012- Jordan Skornik

J. Coert Rylaarsdam Prize
This prize is awarded to a deserving Divinity School student who has made special efforts to promote interfaith relations with particular reference to the Christian, Jewish, and Muslim traditions. These efforts may be curricular or extracurricular. Recent winners include:

  • 2019- Caroline Anglim
  • 2018- Yitzhak Bronstein and Dahlia Herzog