William Schweiker Elected President of the Society of Christian Ethics

January 15, 2014

William Schweiker, the Edward L. Ryerson Distinguished Service Professor of Theological Ethics and Director of the Martin Marty Center for the Advanced Study of Religion, has been elected President for the Society of Christian Ethics. He will serve as Vice President during 2014-2015, and as President during 2015-2016.


An international non-denominational scholarly association, the Society of Christian Ethics promotes scholarly work in Christian ethics and in the relation of Christian ethics to other traditions of ethics, and to social, economic, political and cultural problems.  The SCE promotes research in the history of ethics and moral theology, theoretical issues relating to the interplay of theology and ethics, methodology in ethical reflection and investigation, and comparative religious ethics. At the same time, the Society addresses in national and global contexts problems in applied and professional ethics, and various human rights and social justice issues. The SCE meets annually in conjunction with the Society for Jewish Ethics and the Society for the Study of Muslim Ethics.


William Schweiker’s scholarship and teaching engage theological and ethical questions attentive to global dynamics, comparative religious ethics, the history of ethics, and hermeneutical philosophy. A frequent lecturer and visiting professor at universities around the world, he has been deeply involved in collaborative international projects. His books include Theological Ethics and Global Dynamics: In the Time of Many Worlds (2004); Religion and the Human Future: An Essay in Theological Humanism (2008, with David E. Klemm); and, most recently, Dust that Breathes: Christian Faith and the New Humanisms (2010). His present research is for a book on ethics and the integrity of life.  Among previous honors, Professor Schweiker has been Mercator Professor at Heidelberg University (2012), a Phi Beta Kappa Lecturer (2011-2012), and recipient of the University of Chicago Faculty Award for Graduate Teaching and Mentoring.  He will be awarded an honorary doctorate from Uppsala University on January 24, in Uppsala, Sweden.