Student Awards and Prizes

Each year, the Divinity School awards prizes for specific student achievements. We are pleased to announce the 2019 recipients of the following awards and prizes.


The J. Coert Rylaarsdam Prize is awarded annually to reward a deserving Divinity School student who has made special efforts to promote interfaith relations with particular reference to the Christian, Jewish, and Muslim traditions. These efforts may be curricular or extracurricular. The 2019 recipient is Caroline Anglim.

The Tikva Frymer-Kensky Memorial Prize is awarded annually to the student who has written the most accomplished essay integrating the materials and insights of at least two of the fields to which Professor Frymer-Kensky's own scholarship contributed: Hebrew Bible, biblical law, ancient Near Eastern studies, and ritual and/or feminist theology. The 2019 recipients are David Ridge, for an essay entitled, “The Reversal of Job’s Fortunes and the Limits of Human Knowledge” and Hannah Gene Kessler Jones, for an essay entitled, “Disgrace in Israel: Narrative Ambiguity and Patriarchal Anxiety in the Ancient Reception of Genesis 34”.

The Divinity School Prize for Excellence in Teaching is to recognize and encourage the superior preparation of our doctoral students for careers in teaching. This award is given annually on the basis of self- nomination and the evaluation of a candidate's teaching portfolio. This year's recipients are Cathleen Chopra-McGowan, Kelli Gardner, Elizabeth Sartell, and Yonatan Shemesh.

The Noyes Cutter Prize was awarded to Christine Trotter, for an essay entitled, “A New Reading of 1 Thessalonians 4:9-12 Based on its Context of Consolation”

The Susan Colver-Rosenberger Educational Prize was awarded to Russell Johnson.

The John Gray Rhind Award has been presented annually since 1979 to an advanced student in the ministry program at the Divinity School whose excellence in academic and professional training gives notable promise of a significant contribution to pluralistic religious leadership. This year's receipients are Sarah Lusche and Sara Lytle.


The John Gray Rhind Award: Luke Allgeyer, an MDiv student.

The J. Coert Rylaarsdam Prize:  MDiv students Yitzhak Bronstein and Dahlia Herzog.

The Tikva Frymer-Kensky Memorial Prize : Sun Bok Bae (PhD student in Biblical Studies), for his essay, “Yahweh in a Suit: An Official Form of the Divine Appearance.”

The Divinity School Prize for Excellence in Teaching: Emily Crews (PhD student, History of Religions), Aaron Hollander (PhD student, Theology), and Russell Johnson (PhD student, Philosophy of Religions).