PhDs Available for Appointment

These recent graduates and advanced doctoral students are available for academic appointment in their chosen field of study and research.

 

Doctoral students at the Divinity School concentrate their work in one of the School's eleven areas of study, and also engage other disciplines within the academic study of religion. Their programs include completion of general requirements in the methodologies of the academic study of religion, fulfillment of the requirements of their area of study, and significant coursework in areas across the Divinity School as well as the University of Chicago.   In addition to faculty appointed in the Divinity School's eleven areas of study, faculty across the University whose work is in the study of religion are associated faculty in the Divinity School, and often serve as qualifying examiners, and advisors or readers on dissertation committees.  The doctoral qualifying exams, which must also include at least one exam outside the student's area of study, provide the student with a comprehensive grounding in the current scholarship in the chosen field of research, and emphasize the importance and value of interdisciplinary research.

 

Bible
 

Andrew M. Langford (alangford@uchicago.edu)
"Diagnosing Deviance: Pathology and Polemic in the Pastoral Epistles"

Richard A. Zaleski (rzaleski@uchicago.edu)
"Retelling Scripture: Biblical Paraphrase in Philo of Alexandria’s and Gregory of Nyssa’s Lives of Moses"

 



History of Christianity

Daniel Yingst (dyingst@uchicago.edu)
"Towers in the Mud: Honorius Augustodunensis through the Lens of Pedagogy"
 



History of Judaism


Sam Berrin Shonkoff (sshonkof@oberlin.edu)
"Sacramental Existence: Embodiment in Martin Buber's Philosophical and Hasidic Writings" 
 



Islamic Studies



Philosophy of Religions

Jason Cather (cather@uchicago.edu)
"The Ontological Argument, Its Criticisms and Consequences" 

W. Ezekiel Goggin (zeke.goggin@gmail.com)
"Hegel's Sacrificial Imagination"

Davey K. Tomlinson (dtomlinson@uchicago.edu)
"Buddhahood and Philosophy of Mind: Ratnākaraśānti, Jñānaśrīmitra, and the debate over mental content (ākāra)"

Daniel Wyche (wyche@uchicago.edu)
"The Politics of Self-overcoming: Spiritual Exercises and Political Liberation"
 



​Religion, Literature, and Visual Culture
 

RL Watson (rlwatson@uchicago.edu)
"Children of Darkness, Children of the Mask: An Examination of the Moral Effects of Metaphors of Darkness and Light on the Representational and Societal Lives of Black Americans"
 


Religious Ethics

Willa Lengyel ( )
“Scientific Prediction and Theological Hope: Human Hope in Response to the Environmental Crisis”

Michael R. Turner (mrichit@msn.com)
"Does the Laborer Deserve to Be Paid? The Place of Desert in a Christian Conception of Distributive Justice"

 



Theology

 

"God is Here: A Theology of Place and Displacement"

Aaron Hollander (athollander@uchicago.edu)
"The Multimediation of Holiness: Hagiography as Resistance in Greek Orthodox Theological Culture"

Bryce E. Rich (berich@uchicago.edu)
"Beyond Male and Female: Gender Essentialism and Orthodoxy"

Dilara Kadriye Üsküp (duskup@uchicago.edu)
"Sex in God’s City: Theology as Political Persuasion”