Rev. Teresa (Terri) Hord Owens (MDiv'03), Dean of Students in the Divinity School, has been ected the General Minister and President of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ). Rev. Owens' election makes her the first woman of color to lead a mainline Protestant denomination. Read our complete story. 
Mark G. Toulouse (PhD'84) has been named the Divinity School Alumnus of the Year for 2018. Read our complete story on Professor Toulouse, who recently retired from his position of Prinipal at Emmuel College at the University of Toronto.   
Laurie Zoloth, Dean and Margaret E. Burton Professor of Religion, has started at the School. Please read her welcoming message.
The 530th Convocation took place on Saturday, June 10, 2017. Video of the convocation and a photo album of our diploma ceremony and reception are now available. Enjoy! 
James T. Robinson received a 2017 Faculty Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring.  This annual award recognizes and honors sustained exemplary graduate student teaching and mentoring and is presented at the Spring Convocation.  Read more.
Two Divinity School students were presented with Student Leader Awards. Read more.   
Martin E. Marty, Fairfax M. Cone Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus, was honored at the 2017 Newberry Library Award Dinner. Read more.    
Geneviève Zubrzycki (PhD'02) Associate Professor of Sociology at the University of Michigan, on "Beheading the Saint: Aesthetic Revolt and National Identity in Quebec, 1959-69." Click for details. 
"State of the Garden: Womanism in the Post-Obama Era": hear from and converse with those who helped define the womanist methodology, with speakers including Dean Emilie M. Townes, DMin'82. 
Prof. Sarah E. Fredericks will partner with colleagues from three other universities to better understand the impact of climate change from a humanities perspective among other theological, philosophical and religious inquiries.