History of Christianity
History of Judaism
Islamic Studies
History of Religions
Philosophy of Religions
Anthropology and Sociology of Religion
Religions in America
Religion and Literature
Religious Ethics

Areas of Study and Committees of the Faculty

The Divinity School curriculum is organized into eleven areas of study in relation to three broader committees of the faculty.  


Historically the Divinity School's inquiries into religion have been organized according to three broad committees: Constructive Studies in Religion (Religious EthicsPhilosophy of Religions, and Theology); Historical Studies in Religion (Bible, History of Christianity, and History of Judaism) and Religion and the Human Sciences (History of ReligionsAnthropology and Sociology of Religion, and Religion, Literature and Visual Culture).  

Our two newer areas of doctoral study, Islamic Studies and Religions in America, offer courses that may be related across multiple Committees and are therefore not solely associated with only one Committee.  

Broadly speaking the Committees and areas all are mutually interactive, and the same subjects can be and are studied from these different vantage points.  Each of the Committees has the heuristic function of identifying and focusing attention on particular questions and methods in the study of religion.  Students in the doctoral program choose one area of study in which to specialize, but do coursework and exams across the areas; students in the AMRS, MA and MDiv programs take classes across the areas of study and committees and have freedom to pursue special interests in depth.