Open Space, our weekly community opportunity for conversation, reflection, and fellowship, will take "What do you seek to balance?" as the theme for Winter 2017.   
Our Wednesday Lunch series is open to all. Join us in 2017 for Lunches on Islam and medicine, the Anthropocene, approaching LGBTQ+ identities, and more.
Winter Quarter 2017 course offerings –  including  "Evangelicalism and Fundamentalism in 20th Century America: Interpretations," "Idolatry: Historical and Modern Perspectives," and "Sovereignty, Intimacy and the Body" – are now available.   
Every quarter our student-run coffeeshop, Grounds of Being, runs a "battle of the gods" – with the winner determined by patron tips. This quarter our battle features the "divine feminine," godly women from a variety of traditions. Come to the coffeeshop (armed with your cash) and vote for the divine feminine of your choice!   
Willemien Otten,  Professor of Theology and the History of Christianity, has been invited to be the 2017 Tipton Visiting Distinguished Chair at the University of California, Santa Barbara.  
Mark I. Wallace (PhD Theology,‘86), Professor of Religion at Swarthmore College, will deliver our Autumn Dean’s Seminar in the Craft of Teaching.
Join us for a public lecture and conversation with Paul Knitter: “Good Neighbors or Fellow Seekers? Dealing with the Plurality of Religions in the Twenty-First Century.”      
Marshall Sahlins, the Charles F. Grey Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus of Anthropology and of Social Sciences, will deliver a public lecture, "The Original Political Society."   
Kenneth Warren, Fairfax M. Cone Distinguished Service Professor in the Department of English; also in the Center for the Study of Race, Politics, and Culture and the Committee on Interdisciplinary Studies in the Humanities at the University of Chicago, will deliver the 2016 John S. Nuveen Lecture. The title of Prof. Warren's lecture is  “William Faulkner and the Franchise."
The Divinity School is pleased to announce that John Corrigan, PhD'82, has been named the 2017 Alumnus of the Year.