Alumni News

Please CLICK HERE to share your news.

Have a photo to share? Email terren @

Winter 2017



Autumn 2016

C. David Hein (MA'77) has recently published two new articles related to GEN George C. Marshall. These are "The Marshall Plan: Conservative Reform as a Weapon of War," published in Modern Age: A Quarterly Review 59, no. 1 (Winter 2017) and “Ronald Reagan and George C. Marshall: A Cold War Affinity” in The St. Croix Review 49, no. 4 (August 2016). David Hein is chairman of the development committee of the board of trustees, George C. Marshall Foundation in Lexington, Virginia.

Rebecca Wollenberg (AB'02, PhD'15) has been announced as the winner of the 2016 SBL–DeGruyter Prize for Biblical Studies and Reception History. Wollenberg’s manuscript, “The People of the Book Without the Book: Jewish Ambivalence Towards the Biblical Text After the Rise of Christianity,”was selected as the 2016 winner by the prize committee. "It is very exciting to see the field of biblical reception history embrace topics as wide-ranging as early rabbinic practices of engaging with written scripture,” Wollenberg said. “The field has been growing,” she added, “and changing so quickly in recent years--in no small part thanks to the Society of Biblical Literature and De Gruyter. I am extremely grateful for their support in refining my own work in the field."
Rebecca Scharbach Wollenberg is an assistant professor of Judaic Studies at the Frankel Center for Judaic Studies at the University of Michigan and a fellow in the Michigan Society of Fellows. When she concludes her postdoctoral fellowship in 2018 she will continue at the University of Michigan as a tenure-track assistant professor of Judaic Studies with a specialization in Jewish biblical interpretation.
The De Gruyter Prize for Biblical Studies and Reception History promotes the study of the reception history of the Bible and aims to highlight the broad impact of the Bible in a wide variety of historical contexts and cultural settings.