Advisory Board

The Advisory Board for the Martin Marty Center is composed of citizens representing fields including law, ministry, the arts, and journalism and works in consultation with the faculty of the Center to provide programming oriented towards the intersection of religion and public life.

Scott C. Alexander
Associate Professor of Islamic Studies and Director, Catholic-Muslim Studies at Catholic Theological Union

Douglas E. Anderson
Professor of Neurological Surgery, Loyola University Medical Center 

Jeanne Bishop
Attorney, Office of the Cook County Public Defender; adjunct professor of law at Northwestern University School of Law


Frank Burch Brown 
Frederick Doyle Kershner Professor of Religion and the Arts at Christian Theological Seminary in Indianapolis

John Buchanan
Retired Minister, Fourth Presbyterian Church

Brett Colasacco
Editor of Sightings


Emily D. Crews
Managing Editor, Religion and Culture Web Forum


James Foorman
General Counsel, Guggenheim Capital

Gretchen Helfrich 
Attorney, Loevy & Loevy

Martin E. Marty 
The Fairfax M. Cone Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus of the History of Modern Christianity,
The Divinity School

Teresa Hord Owens 
Dean of Students
The Divinity School

Cristina L. H. Traina 
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Department of Religion
Northwestern University

Dale Walker
Director of Development
The Divinity School